Etiquette & Espionage

10874177

I’m going to venture a guess that anyone who enjoys reading my blog is probably also the type of person that enjoys reading a good book.  Is that an accurate assumption?  Yes?  Fantastic!  If not, then you can just politely thank me for my vote of confidence.

From time to time, I’d like to share what I’m reading since I garner a lot of inspiration from great stories.  Writing is just as inspiring as any other art form.  I’m sure we can all agree on that.

Confession:  Gail Carriger is one of my favorite authors.  Since reading her ‘Parasol Protectorate’ series a couple of years ago, I’ve been a huge fan.  I finally got around to reading the first book in her ‘Finishing School’ series, ‘Etiquette & Espionage’, & so far it is just as delightful as the previous series.  I can’t wait to read the next one!

To sum things up, the story is based around Sophronia Temminnick, a fourteen-year-old with a gift for mischief, who is whisked away to Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality, a finishing school that puts the emphasis on finishing.  She quickly gets swept up in excitement & mystery aboard the floating (that’s right!) school.  Sophronia suspects that one of her peers has something important to hide and thus ensues a great adventure including (but not limited to) a werewolf, a vampire, fine dress, an extremely adorable mechanimal named Bumbersnoot, and of course, etiquette & espionage.

It’s a fantastic YA Steampunk novel that I highly recommend.  As always, Gail Carriger’s writing style is clever and charming, as are her characters.  I hope you’ll take the time to read it if you get the chance! x

Leave a Reply

