Studio Sessions: A Weekly Art Review

i love mr darcy framed art

This week I’ve been doing a lot of sketching, writing, & creating.  I may have an unhealthy obsession with these gorgeous ornate miniature frames.  I’ve amassed quite the collection of them!  So, I have been diligently working on filling them up with original illustrations.

rococo punk framed art masquerade

‘I ❤ Mr. Darcy’ has already been sold but this pretty rococopunk piece is currently available in my Etsy shop.  Keep a look out for more because I will be adding them fairly regularly.  They’re the perfect size to finish in an afternoon & will also be gorgeous additions to my booth at the convention in August.

victorian mixed media atc

I also decided to try something new for fun one afternoon & created my first mixed media ATC.  I don’t know if I’ll be making any more of these, as it’s not my usual thing, but it turned out pretty cute!  You can also find this ‘Dandy Dog’ in my Etsy shop.

Speaking of doing things “just for fun”, my daughter was recently in a production of Mary Poppins, so I drew my own version of Jolly Holiday for her.

mary poppins drawing

As you can tell, I’ve been keeping pretty busy.  I’m also working on a much more grandiose project.

regency man

A couple of years ago, I had started a web comic.  I won’t get into that too much but I never completed it because I felt like I should go in a different direction.  I’m starting to pick up the pieces of that & while I haven’t decided what format to present my story in yet (although, I do have a few ideas that I’m really excited about exploring), I have begun sketching out the many characters that live within this world & writing their backstories.  For example, this is Lord Malcolm Seabright (above), and he is, quite obviously, going to be my resident sassy Regency man.  He is thoroughly unimpressed by anyone except himself (of which, he is very).

But…more on that later.  I think this entry is long enough already.

Have a great day, everyone & thanks for stopping by!  x

Leave a Reply

