Studio Sessions Vol. 2: It’s In The Details

crimson peak art 1

This week’s studio sessions were all over the board!  I wanted to test out a few new things and also make time to draw a couple of things for fun that had been brewing on my mind.  One of those was the Mad Hatter from Disneyland’s Mad T Party Band!

mad hatter art

There’s actually quite a bit of fan art running around of him so I wanted to do something slightly different.  I love how he turned out!  By the way, I love the costuming for the entire Mad T Party Band!  That costume design team deserves a round of applause.

neko cat art

Another piece that I made was this Maneki-neko Cat (it will be an exclusive piece for sale at West Texas Table Top Con).  He’s pretty adorable but I was quickly itching to draw something more complex.  Simplistic illustrations are nice but I’m in a space lately where I like to challenge myself & if I feel like something was too easy then I’m not usually happy with it (even if it turned out cute).

doctor strange art

So, to kick things back into a higher gear, I sketched out one of my favorite Marvel characters: Doctor Strange.

Another thing I had been wanting to work on for a while is getting more intricate with details in my drawings.  To warm up, I worked on some random flourishes.

flourish art

This, coupled with my repeat viewing of the Crimson Peak trailer, inspired my most recent illustration.

crimson peak art 2

There are prints available in my Etsy shop & I have also included it on Society6 (I think it looks great as a card design & mug!).  In the near future, I will probably offer postcard versions of it too if anyone is interested.  (I’m kind of obsessed with postcard making/collecting at the moment.)

So there you have it!  This week’s studio sessions were a pretty eclectic mix but I think I ended up with some nice results.

What is your favorite piece?  Did you get into the studio this weekend?  I’d love to see!  Let me know in the comments.

I’ll leave you with this week’s main source of inspiration.  Crimson Peak!

P.S. – Is it October yet??  🙂

Thanks for reading! x – Dez

Leave a Reply

