Historical Fashion: Waistcoats

persuasion-2007-persuasion-5251123-1024-576

As you can probably guess, one of the things that I draw MANY of are waistcoats.  For whatever strange reason, I think they are probably my favorite historical fashion item.  Perhaps it’s because they were one of the few ways that men could show some individuality & personality in their clothing.  Women have always had a lot of choices in that department but I think men (especially in time period fashion) are relegated to waistcoats and hats.  Anyway, whatever the draw is, I absolutely LOVE them.  I wish they were still everyday fashion.  You really can’t go wrong with a waistcoat.

If you know a dapper gent who’d like to rock one, I’ve compiled a list of some of my favorites at various price ranges.  Enjoy!

il_570xN.434207377_25h1

18th Century Rococo by MattiOnline

il_570xN.732576118_73im

Vintage Waistcoat from BWBritishVintage

il_570xN.746356130_nn5d

Steampunk Waistcoats by Steamersdream

ScreenShot003

Waistcoats by milanoo_fashion

shopping

Aristocrat Waistcoat by Gentleman’s Emporium

il_570xN.767804331_byje

Regency Waistcoat by royalcostumes

There are also a lot of affordable options on Amazon if you would like to find more.  They say diamonds are a girl’s best friend.  I don’t know about all that but I do think waistcoats one of men’s greatest fashion companions.  What do you think?

5049cd9d6e9d7e268bda2ad6934bc87f

Thanks for reading! x- Dez

Leave a Reply

