What’s On My Desk: My Art Supplies Recommendations For Mini Art

Mini Art RocknRococo

Let me preface this post with the fact that mini art can be made from anything.  They can be collages, paintings, etc.  I’m just going to focus on marker illustrations for this list since those are the type that I create the most.

Today I’d like to share my favorite art supplies for making mini art.  I would say that the question that I get asked the most by other artists is what kind of markers & inking pens I use to get such vibrant colors.  I’ll show you in just a moment!  Let’s start with the basics first.

ATCs RocknRococo

In full disclosure, while I do own a few sets of professional grade graphite pencils, I actually do most of my sketching with simple BIC mechanical pencils.  They are efficient & get the job done; plus, I actually really like their erasers.  (Now, when I do a full graphite drawing then I use my professional grade ones.  But for sketching, mechanical pencils do just fine!)

Bristol ATCs

You can use any paper for this but I prefer to use Strathmore Bristol Vellum paper (3.5″x2.5″; cut to size if smaller is needed).  You can purchase these at most craft stores & they are also easily found online.

Fiskars Corner Punch

If I choose to have rounded edges then I like to use my Fiskars Edge Punch.  You could just cut them with scissors but I like to have a clean even look, so this guarantees they will all be cut exactly the same.  These punches can also be found at most craft stores & online.

Inking Pens RocknRococo

After my sketch is complete, I choose what kind of line that I want the image to have.  Typically, I will go with a black ink & for this I mostly use Prismacolor Premier Fine Line Markers (also, I mostly uses sizes 005, 03, & 08).  Every now & then, though, with some pieces (usually Steampunk) I like to use these Copic Sepia Multiliner Pens.  Now, the other three that you see to the right are used after the illustration is colored.  I use these Gelly Roll pens to add highlights that really help the image pop.

Copic Markers RocknRococo

My babies!!! (j/k)  I could write an entire post on how much I love Copic markers but I’ll spare you from that.  I would be gushing on fangirl levels of intensity.  🙂  Long story short, Copics are my go-to marker for pretty much any project!  This is my small collection.  I take note of what color palettes I enjoy using the most & make sure that when I buy new markers I get ones that I know I will use a lot (since they can be pricey; however, I am definitely a fan of utilizing store coupons for these!).

Minature Ornate Frames RocknRococo

The other thing that I’ve amassed a collection of supplies of are these small ornate frames.  I also get asked about them a lot & the truth is that they are very easy to find.  Most stores carry them in their framing departments & even in the dollar sections.  Every time I go to a craft store, I swing by to see if they have any that fit my general aesthetic.  That way, I always have the perfect frame on hand!

I hope you enjoyed this little tour of some of my favorite art supplies.  Do you make mini art?  If so, what supplies do you prefer to use, or do you like the same ones I do?  Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading & stay creative! x- Dez

Leave a Reply

